Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Forced labor abuses in fisheries: A predictive model for identifying high-risk vessels

January 27

11am PST/2pm EST/8 pm CET

Forced labour is a recognized issue in open ocean fishing, but historically the scale of this crime has been very hard to track. What if vessels that use forced labour behave in fundamentally different observable ways from vessels that do not?

A joint research team from Global Fishing Watch, emLab at UC Santa Barbara, and Liberty Shared has been working to uncover these behaviors. Based on this question, the researchers built a predictive model that can identify vessels that are highly likely to be using forced labour.

Speakers:

Valarie Farabee, Liberty Shared
David Kroodsma, Global Fishing Watch
Gavin McDonald, University at California Santa Barbara

Venue

Virtual

SALT does its best to ensure the information posted on the events calendar is timely and accurate. Though we may post new developments, please visit the event website for the most accurate information. SALT does not endorse any events contained within the calendar; all language used in the description is from the event website.